Open Tech Will Save Us

Open Tech Will Save Us

Next Event: Wednesday 12th August 2020 at 5PM UTC

Join the live chat now! #open-tech-meetup:matrix.org

Open Tech Will Save Us is a virtual meetup, taking the form of a monthly live video stream broadcasting on the second Wednesday of every month at 5pm UTC.

We discuss issues relating to technology, especially the importance of Open, Interoperable standards, and how they can enable decentralised tech to keep our data private while still enabling communication.

Next Event

Following three great events, we're looking forward to presenting the fourth!

The next event will be held on Wednesday 12th August 2020 at 5PM UTC (6PM UK time). Join the live chat or check back here for updates.

Previous Events

8th July 2020

Agenda

10th June 2020

Agenda

  • rabble, who has worked on a whole lot of things, will be discussing Planetary, his in-beta Secure Scuttlebutt (SSB) venture!
  • Annie Elequin, creator of Ditto Chat will discuss her work to produce great UX in an Open Source messenger with React Native.
  • Our very own Erik Johnson will give an overview of the recent sharding work being done to improve Synapse performance. Users of the Matrix.org homeserver may have already seen these benefits!

13th May 2020

The second event was held on Wednesday 13th May 2020at 5PM UTC (6PM UK time). Watch the recording here.

Agenda

  • Mike Hoye from Mozilla will be talking about "Verbs in the fediverse"
  • Eugen (@[email protected]) will talk about "how we keep mastodon.social running at scale" as a Q&A
  • ... and a new VIP tour of Dendrite, the next-gen Matrix Homeserver!

8th April 2020

The first event was held on Wednesday 8th April 2020 at 5PM UTC (6PM UK time). Watch the recording here.

Agenda

  • Matthew Hodgson technical co-founder of Matrix.org to introduce and speak about the importance of decentralisation and privacy
  • Saúl Ibarra Corretgé from Jitsi on the rapid growth they've experienced since the start of the 2020 crisis
  • David Dias from IPFS IPFS introducing gossipsub in libp2p, including the security hardening work that they've been putting into v1.1!
  • Valère, from Matrix and Riot, who will present the importance of UX and cross-signing keys in end-to-end encrypted communications.

How to join

Join the live chat now! #open-tech-meetup:matrix.org

From the live chat, you can ask questions to the presenters! We can invite you to join the broadcast, or if you prefer we'll read them out for you.

Once we're live there will be a video stream available on this page. You can also join the stream via YouTube.

Issues with this stream? Try https://stream.matrix.org/

Important note on timezones

5pm UTC is:
  • 7pm in Berlin
  • 6pm in the UK
  • 1pm in New York
  • 10am in California